Close Menu
Fort Lauderdale Injury Lawyer
Call Today For a Free Consultation
Languages Spoken: Portuguese · Spanish · Creole
Fort Lauderdale Injury Lawyer > Personal Injury > Car Accident > Operating Without A Drivers License

Operating Without A Drivers License

If you are cited for operating a motor vehicle without a drivers license, you will face a series of penalties that could impact your life a lot more than you initially think. In many cases, you will not be brought to jail and instead be issued a “Notice To Appear,” which may seem as if you were only cited. However, you need to treat this for what it is: you were arrested for operating a vehicle without a valid drivers license under Florida Statute Section 322.03, and will be facing possible penalties as a result of your arrest including fines and even possible jail time in certain situations.

Operating-Without-A-Drivers-License

Regardless of the penalties that you ultimately receive, you may not feel the immediate discomfort of the entire impact that this arrest will have on your life, much like you were not brought to a holding cell but still technically arrested. In many cases, people treat these arrests as if they are simple citations, accept the penalties, and move on, only to realize later on that they now have a misdemeanor conviction on their criminal records and that it has impacted their lives adversely.

Contact the team at Friedland & Associates today to speak with an attorney during a free initial consultation about your charges of operating without a drivers license in Fort Lauderdale, and learn about why you need to take this charge seriously, and how we can help. Our experience with the Broward courts will be a major asset to your situation, and we will be able to help you understand the impact that each possible ruling will have on you, both short- and long-term, as well as work towards the most favorable outcome for your case.

Read more below about operating without a drivers license in Fort Lauderdale, and contact us now to begin working on your own case as soon as possible.

What Are the Penalties For Operating Without a Drivers License?

Keep in mind that charges of operating without a drivers license are different than operating with a suspended drivers license. If you do not have a drivers license, there is little to no argument to be made that you were unaware of this fact, while if you are stopped for driving with a suspended license, there may be a valid case to make that says you were unaware of this fact. A conviction of operating without a drivers license is a second-degree misdemeanor in Florida, and penalties can include fines of up to $500 and 6 months in jail.

Additionally, this conviction will impact your standing with the Florida Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles by putting you one point closer to being labeled as a habitual traffic offender. This will increase your insurance rates when you ultimately are licensed and able to drive legally, and may have other impacts down that road that you currently do not foresee in your situation. We will be able to help you understand all of these things while we are working together, and will be able to touch on the impacts from a high level while we are talking through your situation during your free initial consultation.

Exemptions For Operating a Vehicle Without a Drivers License

There are a variety of exemptions to these charges depending on many different circumstances. Here are a few different situations that will not result in these charges, although there are many more:

  • You were driving on a private road
  • You were driving with an out-of-state drivers license
  • You were simply not in physical possession of your Florida drivers license
  • You were stopped or detained unlawfully
  • You were operating farm equipment on private property

Of course, there are many other situations that may be very specific to your case that will create a strong argument for having your charges dropped, reduced, or eased. It is important that you work with an attorney through this entire process so that you can be confident with each decision made, and you have the support of someone with an intimate understanding of the Florida Statutes that play a central role in your charges.

Contact Us Today

Remember, even if you were not physically detained and transported to a holding cell, you were arrested for Operating Without a Drivers License. It is easy to think that these charges are not a big deal when you do not need to go through the full process of being arrested, detained, transported, released on bail, etc., but your charges are the same regardless of the procedure you had to undergo or avoided.

Contact us now to speak with an experienced legal professional about your situation, and learn more about how the team at Friedland & Associates can help you ensure that these charges and any possible convictions have a minimal impact on your life, both now and in the future.

Share This Page:

Do i Have a Case?

Fort Lauderdale Personal Injury
  • Address: 707 NE 3rd Ave, Suite 201
    Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
    1309 south flagler drive suite 1 and 2
    West palm beach fl 3340
  • Telephone:

© 2016 - 2019 Friedland & Associates. All rights reserved.
This law firm website is managed by On The Map, Inc.